Home / Competitions / Matchplay Competitions

Aldeburgh win Stenson Shield

The final of the Stenson shield, between the 2016 winners, Woodbridge, and Aldeburgh took place at Bury St Edmunds Golf Club on Saturday 9th September.

The morning foursomes saw Woodbridge establish a 2.5 to 1.5 lead with wins from Phil Ashenden and Simon Peckford and Toby Ayles and Tom Fowler, Nathan Overton and Steve Mann halving their match.

The singles saw a fightback from Aldeburgh with Will Wright, James Reiss, Arthur Patten and Josh Robertson all winning their games and Roger Taylor securing a halve to leave the match level at 6-6.

Will Wright and Nathan Overton contested the play off with Wright winning at the 1st playoff hole to secure victory for Aldeburgh.

Pictured are James Reiss, Captain Aldeburgh Stenson Team receiving the Stenson Shield from County President, Colin Firmin. Others, from left, Robert Palmer, Ian Kitson, Nigel Robson, Arthur Patten, Will Wright, Roger Taylor, Monty Scowsill, James Keely and Josh Robertson.

Scores- Am Foursomes- Will Wright and Ian Kitson beat Andy Whittaker and Tom Auchterlonie 2 & 1, Monty Scowsill and James Reiss lost to Phil Ashenden and Simon Peckford 1 down, Nigel Robson and James Keely halved with Nathan Overton and Steve Mann, Josh Robertson and Arthur Patten lost to Toby Ayles and Tom Fowler 2 down.

Pm Singles- Wright beat Auchterlonie 1 up, Kitson lost to Dzierozynski 1 down, Reiss beat Fowler 5 & 4, Patten beat Peckford 4 & 3, Roger Taylor halved with Ashenden, Robson lost to Mann 1 down, Keely lost to Overton 4 & 3, Robertson beat Ayles 3 & 2.

Aldeburgh 6-Woodbridge 6 (Aldeburgh won at 1st Extra Hole)