Home / Competitions / Individual Competitions/Order of Merit

Bartrum and Biggs retain Suffolk Amateur Foursomes Championship

The Suffolk Amateur Foursomes Championship was played at Ipswich Golf Club on Sunday 24th April. It attracted a field of 56 pairs with a further 17 pairs on a reserve list.

A cold wind and tricky pin positions made scoring difficult, although the course was immaculate and the greens excellent. A hailstorm in mid morning caused a slight delay owing to the greens being covered in hailstones.

The morning round saw the holders, Chris Bartrum and James Biggs from Diss record a level par round of 71 to establish a 1 shot lead over the Stowmarket pairing of James O'Doherty and Keiran Issit who carded a 72 with Jed Seeley and Russell Oakey of Newton Green returning a 74.

Bartrun and Biggs added a 72 in the afternoon for a total of 143 and victory by 6 shots over Jasper Johnson and County Second Team Captain, Calvin Sherwood, who added a 73 to their morning round of 76 to edge ahead of O'Doherty and Issit on count back, both pairs finishing on 149. Graham Wardley, Felixstowe Ferry, and Paul Barnard, Ipswich, took 4th place on 151 with rounds of 76 and 75 and Sam Byford and Tom Fowler, Ipswich were 5th on 152- 77 and 75.

Bartrum and Biggs retain the Macleod Cup with Sherwood and Johnson received the Watts Salvers.

The event this year included the  Suffolk Seniors Amateur Foursomes Championship. With Andy Whittaker and Mark Jackson and Dick Barton and Chris Ginn both returning 36 hole scores of 159. This was decided by a sudden death play off. Both pairs missed short putts with Barton and Ginn eventually taking the trophy with a par at the 18th, their second play off hole.  

Please click here to view full results.