Home / Competitions / Individual Competitions/Order of Merit

Biggs wins the Suffolk Open Championship

The Suffolk Open Championship was played at Bungay & Waveney Valley Golf Club on Sunday 12th August.50 players took part which included 10 professionals.

The morning round saw James Biggs, the current Suffolk Amateur and Suffolk Amateur Matchplay Champion, lead the way with a 2 under par 67 from Diss club colleague Chris Bartrum, Michael Gee (Bury St Edmunds) and Culford School professional Lawrence Dodd who all returned 68's.

Biggs added a level par 69 for a 2 under par total of 136 which was good enough to see him take the Michael Faraday Trophy and also the Chris Easterbrook Trophy (for the highest placed Amateur)

Neil Mitchell (Professional at Ipswich Golf Centre) added an afternoon round of 68 to his morning 69 to finish 1 shot behind on 137 whilst Sam Debenham (Hintlesham), who was beaten by Biggs in a play off for the Suffolk Amateur title, shot 67 in his afternoon round for a level par total of 138 taking 3rd place from Chris Bartrum (Diss) who also shot 138 but with 70 in the afternoon.

Liam Hansey, 4 handicap from the home club, had rounds of 70 and 73 for a gross 143-nett 135 to take the all day nett from Jack Butcher, 5 handicap-Gorleston with 146-136 and Ben Newman, 5 handicap Rookery Park with 147-137

James Biggs (left) is pictured, with runner up Neil Mitchell (right),receiving the Michael Faraday Trophy from Suffolk County President, Colin Firmin.  

To view all results Please click here