Home / Competitions / Matchplay Competitions


Bury St Edmunds won the Hambro Cup after a 20 year wait when they beat Diss in a well contested final at Newton Green by four holes.Although the victory margin was slender, Bury always seemed to be in control. They were 4 up at lunch and had increased their advantage by midway through the second round. A late rally by Diss improved the look of the final score but never seemed likely to pull back the entire deficit.

Steve Duffety and Steve Lankester gave Bury a great start with a 5 hole victory over Archie Moore and Darren Maskell. Trevor Titcombe and Dan Smailes beat Chris Bartrum and Diss Captain, Tony Osborn by 2 holes. Roger Nicholson and 14 year old Max Adams halved their match with Josh Driver and septuagenarian Ken Bowman whilst Charlie Taylor and James Biggs won 5 up against Ben Coleman and Phil Graham

In the afternoon Bury kept the same order but introduced Graham Sykes in the final match in place of Phil Graham. Diss kept the same personnel but altered some of their pairings.

Suffolk players Bartrum and Driver teamed up to check the obvious threat of Duffety and Lankester. The tactic worked with Diss winning by 2 holes. Titcombe and Smailes, although losing 3 holes in a row late on, won by 2 holes against Moore and Maskell. Nicholson and Adams again halved, this time against Bowman and Osborn and Biggs and Taylor could only halve leaving Bury winners by 4 holes.

Results AM- Steve Duffety and Steve Lankester beat Archie Moore and Darren Maskell by 5 holes, Trevor Titcombe and Dan Smailes beat Chris Bartrum and Tony Osborn by 4 holes, Roger Nicholson and Max Adams halved with Josh Driver and Ken Bowman, Ben Coleman and Phil Graham lost to Charlie Taylor and James Biggs by 5 holes.PM- Duffety and Lankester lost to Bartrum and Driver by 2 holes, Titcombe and Smailes beat Moore and Maskell by 2 holes, Nicholson and Adams halved with Osborn and Bowman. Coleman and Sykes halved with Taylor and Biggs.

Pictured is from left- Steve Duffety, Dan Smailes, Phil Platten, President Suffolk Golf Union, Phil Smailes, Team Captain, Steve Lankester, Malcolm Wyer (Reserve) Max Adams, Phil Graham, Front- Roger Nicholson, Trevor Titcombe, Ben Coleman and Graham Sykes.