Home / Competitions / Matchplay Competitions


Newton Green retained the Hambro Cup with a six-hole victory over Haverhill in a final at Bury St Edmunds that hung in the balance until the closing holes. The holders were five up at lunch. They needed that cushion as Haverhill fought back in the afternoon. After 15 holes the teams were neck and neck.

The ever-dependable Simon Bearman and Mike Polley were 13 up on the day against different opponents. Haverhill’s Dave Spittle and Jack Bligh were one down at lunch to Russell Oakey and Harvey Watts but were four up in the afternoon. Yet the win by Watts and Oakey on the 16th, when they were giving a shot, came at a crucial time in the overall match. Connor Talbot played with his father Bob in the morning and they were three down. Lewis Woodhead took over from Bob in the afternoon. The new pairing took time to settle but they pulled back a five-hole deficit to lose by only two. Jed Seeley and Greg Hills were two up at lunch but they, too, found the going tougher in the afternoon against Haverhill team captain Chris Vince and Jack Warwick. Vince sunk a long birdie putt on the ninth but they won by one to remain one down on the day. Hills, formerly of Stoke by Nayland, now has two Hambro Cup and two Stenson Shield pint mugs.

Hambro Cup final Newton Green beat Haverhill by six holes. At Bury St Edmunds. Newton Green names first. Morning: Russell Oakey and Harvey Watts beat Dave Spittle and Jack Bligh by one hole; Connor Talbot and Bob Talbot lost to Gerry Scott and Matt Farlie by three holes; Simon Bearman and Mike Polley beat Andy Fish and Paul Bartlett by five holes; Jed Seeley and Greg Hills beat Chris Vince and Jack Warwick by two holes. Afternoon: Oakey and Watts lost to Spittle and Bligh by four holes; C Talbot and Lewis Woodhead lost to Fish and Bartlett by two holes; Bearman and Polley beat Scott and Farlie by eight holes; Seeley and Hills lost to Vince and Warwick by one hole.

Pictured is Ian Woodhead, team captain of Newton Green, receiving the Hambro Cup from Suffolk Golf Union president Phil Platten. Back (from left): Mike Polley, Russell Oakey, Greg Hills, Harvey Watts, Bob Talbot and Simon Bearman. Front: Jed Seeley, Lewis Woodhead and Connor Talbot.