Home / Competitions / Matchplay Competitions


The final of the 2016 Tolly Cobbold Cup, between Rookery Park and Felixstowe Ferry, took place at Stowmarket Golf Club on Sunday 28th August.

The morning round saw Felixstowe Ferry establish a 3 hole lead thanks to a 4 hole win by David Bloom and Ashley Veitch. James Hogg and Scott Coleman won by 1 hole for Rookery with the other 2 matches finishing all square.

The early stages of the afternoon round saw Felixstowe Ferry increase their advantage with Rookery's final pairing of James Nolleth and Ian Foxten 4 down after just 5 holes whilst other matches were one or two either way. However, Nolleth and Foxten turned their match around to win by 1 hole, Kevin Fitzgerald and Steve Morris won the final 3 holes to salvage a halve, Coleman and Hogg achieved a 5 hole victory over Felixstowe Ferry's morning winners Bloom and Veitch and with Conal Downing and Kevin Titchener recording a 3 hole win Rookery ran out winners by 6 holes, their first win in this competition since the move to Rookery Park in the mid 70's.

Results AM- James Hogg and Scott Coleman beat Mark Linney and Tony Burn 1 hole, Kevin Fitzgerald and Steve Morris lost to David Bloom and Ashley Veitch 4 down, Conal Downing and Kevin Titchener all square with Tony Goodman and Dean Mundy, James Nolleth and Ian Foxten All square with David Southgate and Andy Hunt. PM- Coleman and Hogg beat Bloom and Veitch 5 holes, Ftzgerald and Morris All square with Linney and Burn, Downing and Titchener beat Goodman and Mundy 3 holes, Nolleth and Foxten beat Southgate and Hunt 1 hole

Pictured is County Vice President, Colin Firmin, presenting the Tolly Cobbold Cup to the Rookery Park Golf Club winning team captain, Allan Holmes.  

Posted on 29/08/2016 by Charlie Wilderspin