Home / Competitions / Individual Competitions/Order of Merit

Suffolk Amateur Foursomes Championship

The Suffolk Amateur Foursomes Championship was played at Bury St Edmunds Golf Club on Sunday 22nd April. 51 pairs took part.

The first round saw Flempton's Alfie Halil, the current Suffolk Open Champion, partnered by Max Weaver, Bury St Edmunds, card a 1 under par 71 which could have been considerably better but for a triple bogey on the short 172 yard par 3 13th hole. Never the less they had a 4 shot advantage over the home pairing of Craig Nurse and Andy Cunningham.Chris Bartrum and James Biggs, winners for the past 3 years, were a further shot behind after carding a 4 over par 76

A splendid 3 under par round of 69 from the reigning champions saw them set a target for the 36 holes of 145, 1 over par which no pair managed to achieve leaving them champions and winners of the Macleod Cup for a record fourth consecutive year.A superb  achievement. They did suffer an anxious half hour when shortly after 5 pm there was thunder, lightning and a few minutes of torrential rain which threatened abandonment of the afternoon round. In the event the sunshine returned with the competition completed. Pictured right are Alfie Halil and Max Weaver with the Watts Salvers , County President, Colin Firmin, and Chris Bartrum and James Biggs with the Macleod Cup.

Halil and Weaver recorded an afternoon round of 76 to leave them 2 shots adrift for which they received the Watts Salvers.The Gorleston pairing of Danny Western and Jack Butcher took 3rd place with rounds of 78-73 for 151 pipping Nurse and Cunningham, who took the morning gross prize,on count back. 

The afternoon gross went to Ben Sayers, Felixstowe Ferry, and Josh Robertson, Aldeburgh with 72.

Conal Downing, Rookery Park, and Louis Martin, Haverhill, won the all day nett with 154, nett 147 on count back from T Mardon and George Austin.

The Suffolk Seniors Foursomes Championship for the Jon Marks Trophy was won by Paul Buckle and Ron Spore, Stowmarket with 84-80 -164 on count back from the previous year's winners Andy Whittaker and Mark Jackson. They are pictured left with County President, Colin Firmin.

To view all scores Please click here