Suffolk Golf Union Annual General Meeting

The Annual General Meeting of the Suffolk Golf Union was held at Hintlesham Golf Club on Friday 27th March 2015. Representatives of 22 clubs were present together with members of the Suffolk Executive and Junior committees, 4 past presidents and several invited guests.

The meeting was preceded by the President's Golf competition, 42 pairs taking part in a 4ball betterball competition. The winners with a score of 46 points were Nathan Overton, the County Captain and Laurie Cottrell followed closely by Neil Meadows, County Second Team Captain and Scott Ballantyne on 45 points.

Prior to commencement of the AGM presentations were made to Trophy winners- Nathan Overton receiving the Order of Merit Salver, Jed Seeley the Junior Order of Merit Salver, Paul Waring the Rees/Quinney Trophy for contributing the most points in County matches during the season and John Cullum the Winstanley Trophy for his outstanding contribution to Suffolk Golf over many years.

The AGM marked the official end of Ron Kent's association with Suffolk Golf which has spanned 22 years.Mike Rees, former County President, gave a vote of thanks to Ron recognising his dedication, commitment,enthusiasm and hard work over very many years for Suffolk Golf, at the end of which the meeting gave Ron a well deserved standing ovation. Presentations were made to Ron by his successor Phil Platten to mark his outstanding service to the County.

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting can be viewed by clicking here