Home / Competitions / Matchplay Competitions

Thorpeness win the Parks Trophy

Thorpeness won the Parks Trophy, the Suffolk Golf Union inter-club knock-out for lower handicap players, for the third time in their history. Their other successes came in 2002, the inaugural year of the event, and again in 2006.

They scored an overwhelming 17-hole victory over Rushmere at Ipswich Golf Club on Monday, a sunny day with a chilly breeze.

There was not much in it for the first five holes although word of Tony Mardon’s eagle at the second spread around the course.A splendid drive was followed by a three-iron to within a foot of the pin. It must have been a huge boost for Thorpeness.His partner, Mick Cook, who played in the 2006 success over Aldeburgh, made his shots count. They beat Alan Middle and Graham Hurren by four holes. Middle’s long putt on the fifth was his highlight.

The top match was close all the way. Richard Newton, Thorpeness club president and Suffolk Senior champion in 2004, and Mick Ford were ahead for the first time after the 17th and held on for victory against Tom Howard and Glyn Chaplin.

Jon Last and Robert Ayrton were exchanging holes with Peter Robinson and Ray Smith until pressing on the accelerator towards the end to win by two.

The final match saw Peter Cooney and David Brown in unstoppable form. They ran away with their match against Charlie Maskell and Roger Baird, two Rushmere Hambro players of yesteryear.

There was a good following of supporters from both clubs and the match was played in an excellent spirit.

Scores-(Thorpeness names first): Richard Newton and Mick Ford beat Tom Howard and Glyn Chaplin by one hole; Jon Last and Robert Ayrton beat Peter Robinson and Ray Smith by two holes; Tony Mardon and Mick Cook beat Alan Middle and Graham Hurren by four holes; Peter Cooney and David Brown beat Charlie Maskell and Roger Baird by 10 holes.

Pictured are (left to right) Tony Mardon, Roger Brown,Jon Last, David Brown, Richard Newton, Ray Foreman (team captain), Robert Ayrton,Colin Firmin (SGU president), Peter Cooney, Mick Ford and Mick Cook.